To New Beginnings.

I’ve been reflecting a lot lately on where I’d like to take my writing.

Not many people know this, but I’ve been blogging on/off since 2004. I’ve always managed to keep everything rather low-key, as I’m not one for unwanted attention. Writing was always my way of coping with life’s challenges. It was my catharsis amidst the angst that was teenage life. I went through journal after journal after journal in a seemingly futile effort to record my thoughts down and settle the tumultuous storm in my head.

I stopped writing regularly around 2009, deleted most of my blogging platforms and prepared myself for a new life in New Zealand. It was meant to be the place of my rebirth, where I would rise from the ashes of a once tempestuous life cycle before emerging as a full-grown writer-cum-musician.

Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

Instead, I pursued ventures that are straying farther away from my initial ambitions. I ended up in London, where I last expected myself to be instead of remaining in Auckland or going home to Malaysia. I worked in a profession/industry that I swore I would never be a part of before venturing into something that’s much more up my alley, firmly rooted in the arts and my newfound love for technology. I’m 5 months away from completing a degree in a subject that I’ve always tried to avoid throughout my academic life because I thought I wasn’t smart enough to pursue it, but have learned that I’m actually doing quite well at it (surprise, surprise). I’m moving in next week with someone I met ONLINE of all places (hooray for Tinder?) and have set myself up here for the next 3 years at least.

My life has taken many unplanned twists and unexpected turns. It was frustrating not knowing where I was going, but I think that it’s time I take back some control.

I don’t know where this blog will take me. I am not going to be a fashion blogger with perfectly curated Instagram photos of my OOTD or a food blogger with beautifully photographed morsels that will tantalise your taste-buds. I am definitely not a lifestyle blogger! My life is dull enough as it is, I shouldn’t have to bore you with its details!

I think I’m going to just make it up as I go along. That’s how people do it these days, right?

2016 will hopefully be my year for change and continuous growth. Should probably start with writing more instead of every 5 months, so I guess this is my start to the new year.

Fingers crossed I don’t suck too much at this.

Leave a Reply

