The Paradox of Mankind

I cannot imagine what the families and friends of those who were lost last night are feeling right now.

I’ve been watching the news since I got up this morning and I just can’t deal knowing how fucked up the world is sometimes and how grateful I am that my own family and friends are safe.

It sounds very ignorant of me, but I tend to avoid watching the news (but I still read it) because all of the footage being released makes me so emotional.

When I see images of people SUFFERING, it kills me a little bit inside. It sounds so dramatic, but I really cannot handle images of violence and destruction. I start shaking and I can feel my heart sinking into my stomach.

My problems seem so insignificant in light of what is happening around the world. People dying, starving and suffering in the midst of war, famine and poverty while I’m here sitting in comfort and safety.

This event is not only an attack on the French but one that is going against the core of everything I believe in: being kind and compassionate to others without judgement.

The saying, “liberté, égalité, fraternité“, is one that really resonates with my own personal beliefs. I cannot imagine a world where I’m unable to express my thoughts freely, pursue an education and live my life amongst people with similar ideologies.

We are all lucky to be where we are.

Given how the human mind works, normal people like us tend to focus on our own problems and never think about the plight of others. I’m not saying everyone is like this, but at the heart of it all, human beings are narcissists.

We lose sight a lot of what is truly important. We are all lucky to be in the position we are in. We have shelter, food, heat, clean water and technology at our fingertips yet we are never satisfied.

My heart goes out to all those who have been affected by this horrific tragedy and to those whom we cannot see, to those who cannot speak for themselves and whom we are blind to just because the mass media fails to cover the atrocities being committed towards them. We should not forget the innocent whose lives have been uprooted and lost due to the wars in Syria, Libya, Pakistan, Iran, Yemen and in parts of Africa. Those are the people whose voices have been silenced and we need to be compassionate towards all of them.

My heart, good thoughts and well wishes go out to all of you.

***

A part of me wonders if the human race is doomed to fall by our own design.

We may be living in one of the most peaceful generations in the history of mankind, but all of this shit going on is heartbreaking. Especially when I see children being affected by the mistakes of the generation before them.

Technology is at an apex where things are evolving and being developed so rapidly yet we are so blind and oblivious still.

It scares the living daylights out of me.

We are meant to be a civilised society, yet these unspeakable acts are happening all around us. It is blatant barbarism and a complete lack of respect for human life.

We all bleed the same. You cut us and we all bleed red. Why is religion, the colour of our skin and our different beliefs such a problem for these sick individuals?

We are all in this world together. We are fighting and kicking to make it a better place.

No one is more superior than the other. No religion is better than the other.

I blame extremists and I absolutely cannot understand why they would commit such sins that goes against the very core and foundations upon which Islam was built on.

All religions have the same underlying messages: Do not commit evil or harm others. Do good and you shall see the rewards of your kind acts.

This is why I believe so firmly in karma. If you do good, you will live a good life. If you commit evil, it will come back around to bite you in the ass.

Life is cyclical. Every reaction has an equal and opposite reaction. To believe otherwise is foolish and deluded.

But we cannot point fingers at all Muslims either. It’s like saying that all Muslims are evil and deserve to die. We cannot continue perpetuating ignorance and prejudice just because of some idiots who resort to extremism.

The media has demonized the religion throughout the years and it is not fair to put all Muslims under the same umbrella. If anyone has ever read the Quran before, they would realise that the Prophet’s message is one of peace and kindness. I don’t claim to be an expert, but having grown up in a predominantly Islamic country means that I do have some knowledge of it.

Islam is not the religion that mass media claims it to be. It is far from it. It has merely been misinterpreted just like how the Bible can be misinterpreted by crazies with their own personal agendas.

They only believe that they want to believe.

There’s a post by Marina Mahathir going around on Facebook and I think the closing statement rings especially true.

Marina Mahathir
The following clip from Doctor Who featuring the 12th Doctor has never been more poignant than it is right now and I think everyone should give it a watch as it’s a perfect embodiment of why this violence – this war on terror, religion and PEOPLE – is so unnecessary and senseless. I’ll place a transcript in as well just in case people have no time to watch the video.

The Doctor: You just want cruelty to beget cruelty. You’re not superior to people who were cruel to you. You’re just a whole bunch of new cruel people. A whole bunch of new cruel people, being cruel to some other people, who’ll end up being cruel to you. The only way anyone can live in peace is if they’re prepared to forgive. Why don’t you break the cycle?

Bonnie: Why should we?

The Doctor: What is it that you actually want?

Bonnie: War.

The Doctor: Ah. And when this war is over, when — when you have the homeland free from humans, what do you think it’s going to be like? Do you know? Have you thought about it? Have you given it any consideration? Because you’re very close to getting what you want. What’s it going to be like? Paint me a picture. Are you going to live in houses? Do you want people to go to work? What’ll be holidays? Oh! Will there be music? Do you think people will be allowed to play violins? Who will make the violins? Well? Oh, You don’t actually know, do you? Because, just like every other tantruming child in history, Bonnie, you don’t actually know what you want. So, let me ask you a question about this brave new world of yours. When you’ve killed all the bad guys, and it’s all perfect and just and fair, when you have finally got it exactly the way you want it, what are you going to do with the people like you? The troublemakers. How are you going to protect your glorious revolution from the next one?

Bonnie: We’ll win.

Doctor: Oh, will you? Well maybe — maybe you will win. But nobody wins for long. The wheel just keepts turning. So, come on. Break the cycle.

Bonnie: Then why are you still talking?

The Doctor: Because I’m trying to get you to see. And I’m almost there.

Bonnie: Do you know what I see, Doctor? A box. A box with everything I need. A 50% chance.

Kate: For us, too.

[The Doctor sighs.]

The Doctor: And we’re off! Fingers on buzzers! Are you feeling lucky? Are you ready to play the game? Who’s going to be quickest? Who’s going to be the luckiest?

Kate: This is not a game!

The Doctor: No, it’s not a game, sweetheart, and I mean that most sincerely.

Bonnie: Why are you doing this?

Kate: Yes, I’d like to know that too. You set this up — why?

The Doctor: Because it’s not a game, Kate. This is a scale model of war. Every war ever fought right there in front of you. Because it’s always the same. When you fire that first shot, no matter how right you feel, you have no idea who’s going to die. You don’t know whose children are going to scream and burn. How many hearts will be broken! How many lives shattered! How much blood will spill until everybody does what they’re always going to have to do from the very beginning — sit down and talk! Listen to me, listen. I just — I just want you to think. Do you know what thinking is? It’s just a fancy word for changing your mind.

Bonnie: I will not change my mind.

The Doctor: Then you will die stupid. Alternatively, you could step away from that box. You could walk right out of that door, and you could stand your revolution down.

Bonnie: No, I’m not stopping this, Doctor. I started it. I will not stop it. You think they’ll let me go after what I’ve done?

The Doctor: You’re all the same, you screaming kids, you know that? “Look at me, I’m unforgivable.” Well here’s the unforeseeable, I forgive you. After all you’ve done. I forgive you.

Bonnie: You don’t understand. You will never understand.

The Doctor: I don’t understand? Are you kidding? Me? Of course I understand. I mean, do you call this a war, this funny little thing? This is not a war. I fought in a bigger war than you will ever know. I did worse things than you could ever imagine, and when I close my eyes… I hear more screams than anyone could ever be able to count! And do you know what you do with all that pain? Shall I tell you where you put it? You hold it tight… Til it burns your hand. And you say this — no one else will ever have to live like this. No one else will ever have to feel this pain. Not on my watch.

We live in an age where information is at our fingertips. Where we can easily find out and learn about different cultures, creeds and religions. Yet we pretend that the information doesn’t exist and blindly follow whatever it is that the media tells us or are merely happy to live in ignorance.

We are capable of such kindness yet still manage to commit such sins against living things.

We are a living, walking paradox.

Humanity is capable of so much more than this bigotry, racism, xenophobia, homophobia and “holier than thou” attitudes. We’ve already come so far as seen through history.

We need to be the change we want to see.

If things do not change and if we continue to live the way we are without accepting those around us, then we will ultimately be the reason for our own demise.

Who will come and save us then?

Leave a Reply

